How the 7 Liberal Arts Relates to the Trivium & Quadrivium

The liberal arts have been around since ancient times and are still relevant today. From the Trivium to the Quadrivium, these seven traditional branches of study continue to shape our understanding and knowledge of the world. This article will explore how the 7 Liberal Arts relate to the Trivium and Quadrivium, two educational systems developed by ancient Greeks and Romans.

Rebbecca Devitt

I hope you enjoy reading this blog post. If you want to do my course on how to homeschool, click here.

Let’s have a closer look below.

7 liberal arts equals the trivium plus quadrivium (Instagram Post (Square))

Affiliate links are used on this website.

The 7 Liberal Arts in Classical Education

In classical education, the quadrivium is the second part of the seven liberal arts, which are considered to be the foundation of a liberal education.

The first part of the liberal arts is the trivium, which includes the:

Let’s discuss this more below.

The Trivium and the 7 Liberal Arts

The Trivium is the first three stages of the seven liberal arts, while the Quadrivium comes later (usually after a student has graduated high school or the rhetoric stage).

Grammar stage

This stage is when students are introduced to the basic building blocks of language and communication, such as phonics, vocabulary, and grammar.

It is focused on the acquisition of knowledge.

Logic stage

In this stage, students learn to think critically and analyze information.

They learn how to ask questions, make arguments, and evaluate evidence. The focus is on the development of reasoning skills.

Rhetoric stage

In this stage, students learn how to communicate effectively, both in writing and verbally.

They learn how to organize their thoughts and express themselves clearly and persuasively.

The focus is on the ability to communicate knowledge.

If you don’t know that much about classical education or you want to brush up on the subject, watch the video below from my Youtube Channel, How to Homeschool.

This will also help you brush up on the 7 liberal arts.

The Quadrivium and The 7 Liberal Arts

The Quadrivium is the latter part of the 7 liberal arts and is usually studied in later years or in college.


This is the study of numbers and their properties, including operations such as addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division.


This is the study of shapes, sizes, and positions of figures.

It covers concepts such as points, lines, angles, and polygons.


This is the study of sound, pitch, rhythm, melody, and harmony.

It explores the mathematical principles that underlie music and the relationship between music and the other arts.


This is the study of the universe, its structure, origins, and motions of celestial objects, including stars, planets, and galaxies.

Quadrivium is Advanced

The Quadrivium is often considered the more advanced or abstract part of the liberal arts, and it builds on the knowledge and skills acquired during the Trivium.

The Trivium and Quadrivium together are considered to make up the seven liberal arts that were considered essential for a well-rounded education in the Middle Ages.

7 liberal arts equals the trivium plus quadrivium (Pinterest Pin (1000 × 1500 px))

7 Best Classical Homeschool Curriculum Programs

If you’re interested in implementing the classical homeschooling method, there’s no need to start from scratch and create your own curriculum. Fortunately, there are several reputable classical Christian education options available that can provide a solid foundation for your homeschool. Let’s take a look at some of these curriculum options:

  1. Veritas Press – great if you want more of an online program – book a free consultation with them here.
  2. Memoria Press – great if you prefer a mailable program
  3. Compass Classroom – an extremely affordable classical program with a hint of Charlotte Mason
  4. Classical Conversations – includes a homeschooling co-op focus
  5. Classical Academic Press – customize your curriculum with this one
  6. A Well-Trained Mind
  7. Tapestry of Grace – Unit Studies approach to a Christian curriculum

Before making a decision, it’s helpful to research and review these options in more detail.

There are websites where you can find comprehensive reviews of these curriculum choices to assist you in selecting the one that aligns with your educational goals and preferences.

Remember, each curriculum has its unique features, so take the time to evaluate them based on your homeschooling needs and the learning style of your child.

Want to Learn About Homeschooling?

There are two great ways to learn more about homeschooling: one is free, and one is a $67 fundamentals course.

1. The Ultimate Homeschool Parenting Program

Transform your homeschooling experience and take it to the next level with our comprehensive online course.

Led by expert educator, Rebecca Devitt, you’ll learn the strategies and techniques you need to succeed in homeschooling. This program is packed with valuable resources, a personalized curriculum and an effective way to manage your time that will help your children thrive.

You’ll have lifetime access to the course for just $67.

Sign up now and start your journey to a successful homeschooling experience!

2. The Free How to Homeschool YouTube Channel

Want something better than a homeschool blog? Look no further than the How to Homeschool YouTube channel!

This channel is designed to help homeschooling parents with expert tips, educational content and a wide range of resources.

Whether you’re a seasoned veteran or new to the homeschooling world, you’ll find something valuable on our channel. And the best part? It’s completely free!

I know you’re going to love the channel!

Conclusion on the 7 Liberal Arts

The seven liberal arts are a cornerstone of the Western educational system. They provide a basis for developing the critical thinking and analytical skills necessary to perform higher-level tasks. The seven liberal arts are divided into the Trivium and Quadrivium, with each group focusing on different aspects of knowledge acquisition. Together, these two groups of disciplines provide an invaluable set of tools that can be used to explore any subject in an intellectually rigorous way.

Share your love
Default image
Rebecca Devitt

Most adults don't particularly want to relive their schooling experience on a daily basis. They would gladly move on to a new life devoid of homework and teachers. Very, very few adults will passionately blog about their schooling some 15 years after graduating. This makes Rebecca Devitt somewhat unique. As it happens, she was homeschooled. And she loved it. Still does. And she wishes every kid could get a taste of homeschooling at its very best. Her website How Do I Homeschool, is a springboard for parents to see what a life of homeschooling could be for both them & their children. When she's not blogging Rebecca is still homeschooling her-adult-self by learning Latin, growing weird vegetables and most importantly looking after her two children Luke & Penny. She has a husband Tristan and is a participant at Wollongong Baptist Church. She's also written a book about why parents should homeschool called 'Why on Earth Homeschool'.

Articles: 347

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *